Just as for most people the concept of privacy is important, when it comes to the use of applications, the location-tracking function they possess can be an essential element upon which they depend for their operation.
An example of this is Google Maps, an application that depends in part on the user’s location data to generate information related to the layout of routes and maps.
On the other hand, some of the applications installed on your iPhone may be tracking your location at all times without your knowledge and others may require your authorization to do so, which is why through this article you will discover how to see, which applications are tracking your location on the iPhone and how to configure this property.
Which applications are following you?
- The first thing you need to do to see the list of applications on your iPhone that are making use of your location data, is to go to Settings and click on the Privacy option.
- Once there, click on Location Services.
- This will take you to a screen on which you can see all the applications installed on your iPhone that can make use of your location data where you can also check which are making use of this data, as well as whether they do at all times or only when the application has been launched by you.
- To configure the app’s access to your location data, click on it or on the status located next to the icon that indicates how to use your location data. By doing this you will be taken to another screen where 3 options will appear:
* Never: If you check this option, you will be restricting the application from accessing your location data.
* When using the App: If you check this option, the app will access your location data only when its interface has been launched on your iPhone screen.
* Always: If you check this option, the app will have access to your location data as soon as it is required.
After you have chosen the option of your preference, it will appear activated next to the application, indicating the status it will have regarding access to your location data.
How do I know if an application is accessing location data in the background?
If your location data is being accessed in the background by an application that is not active, i.e. when you are not using it, you will notice this when you see a blue notification at the top left of your iOS device screen.
If this is the case and you don’t know which application is carrying out this action, just click on the notification to display the responsible application on screen, whose access you can configure, applying the same steps described above to see which applications are using your location data.
This will prevent the application from accessing your data in incognito mode when you are not using it. On the other hand, it is convenient to mention that to guarantee a correct operation, some applications must access your location data to do their job.
For this reason, it is important that before partially or totally restricting an application to your location data you check that this does not negatively interfere with its performance.